- Monday, March 27, 2006

Establishment of YBA in the Natural History Museum

An establishment ceremony of the Young Biologists’ Association in the Natural History Museum premises was held on Friday, 26 June 1998 at the National Museum, Sir Marcus Fernando Mawatha, Colombo 7. Chief guest for the ceremony is Prof. A V Suraweera, Hon Minister of Cultural Affairs. Prof. K D Aruldpragasam, Vice Chairman of the National Education Commission delivered a special presentation and several University professors, other academics, government and non-government representatives also participated at this event. School students and Principals were also participated at this event.

Young Biologists’ Association was established in March, 1998 and this is an affiliated institute of the Institute of Biology which is the leading institution for professional Biologists in Sri Lanka incorporated by an act of Parliament in 1983. Aim of YBA is to promote Biology, Environmental Studies and related disciplines among students and to direct younger generation to achieve environmentally friendly development. With the activities of this association it was possible to establish an active dialogue and interaction among university academics, university students and school students for the first time in Sri Lanka. Resource inputs from the professional organization, Institute of Biology have been helpful in enhancing the knowledge of younger generation in the area of environment and development. Field excursions and lecture programmes were conducted by this association and students are now involved in several research projects relating to environmental pollution, waste recycling, biodiversity conservation and development of forest products.

2.30 pm Arrival of Participants
2.40 pm Address by Prof. K D Aruldprgasam Vice Chairman, National Education Commission

2.50 pm Opening of New Office of the YBA by Hon Prof A V Suraweera, Minister of Cultural Affairs

3.00 pm Planting of Trees

3.10 pm Welcome address by the President, YBA, Mr Sampath Wahala

3.20 pm Address by Dr S C Wijeyaratne, President, Institute of Biology

3.30 pm Address by Mr Sirimewan Lakdusinghe, Director Museum

3.40 pm Address by Prof H G Nandadasa, Professor of Botany, University of Sri Jayewardenepura

3.50 pm Address by Dr Hiran Amarasekera, Patron, YBA

4.00 pm Address by the Chief Guest - Prof A V Suraweera , Hon Minister of Cultural Affairs.
4.10 pm Vote of Thanks by Ms Nayana Perera, Superintendent, Natural History Museum

4.15 pm Drama on Environment and Tea

Visit our web site at http://www.EnvironmentLanka.com

No comments:

Post a Comment